Island of Dreams

“Sometimes all we need is a place to escape reality
An island of dreams,
A place where nothing exists
But you and the book,
A place where turning the page is the hardest thing you have to do.

Sometimes getting lost is all you can do,
Until you find yourself again
Buried in the pages of a book

Because I’d rather be buried in words
Than locked inside a screen
I’d rather be stranded alone
On my tiny island of dreams
I’d rather do that than be surrounded
By noises, by the sound
Of people yelling and screaming
About their TV show loves
Which lover they want
What food they want
Which life they want to choose

But the man who reads
Lives many more lives than the man
Who never lets his mind light up
With the wonder
And the creativity
Of a book

So I choose this life
On my small island
On my small island of dreams
Because the colours are in my head
Not on the screen
I can create new colours
Create new stories
And read the ones that have already been told
The ones that are classic
The ones that are obscure

All the books I love
All the books that have taken me here
To my tiny island of dreams”

Thankyou for reading the first piece of poetry I have posted on Bookly, it really means a lot to me. Please let me know what you think about my poetry and I hope to see you in the comments soon!

Love and Christmas wishes,

Ruby 🎄

Published by Ruby Red

Pinterest: rubyred_bookly8 Soundcloud: Ruby Red URL: https://soundcloud.com/ruby_red07_bookly Tumblr: RubyRed078 Contact me at rubyred.bookly8@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Island of Dreams

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started